Second United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea

Geneva, Switzerland 17 March – 26 April 1960

Officers of the Conference and Its Committees

Extract from the Official Records of the Second United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea (Summary Records of Plenary Meetings and of Meetings of the Committee of the Whole, Annexes and Final Act)

Specialized Agencies

INTERNATIONAL LABOUR ORGANISATION

Mr. C. W. Jenks, Assistant Director-General of the International Labour Office;

Mr. Francis Wolf, Chief, Legal Division;

Mr. Tord H. Bratt, Chief, Industrial Workers Division;

Mr. K. El Zubeir, International Organizations Division.

FOOD AND AGRICULTURE ORGANIZATION OF THE UNITED NATIONS

Dr. Donovan Bartley Finn, Director, Fisheries Division;

Mr. S. J. Holt, Chief, Research Programmes Section, Fisheries Biology Branch, Fisheries Division;

Dr. J. A. Carroz, Legal Research Officer, Rural Legislation Branch, Department of Public Relations and Legal Affairs.

INTERNATIONAL CIVIL AVIATION ORGANIZATION

Mr. P. K. Roy, Director, Legal Bureau;

Dr. G. F. Fitzgerald, Senior Legal Officer.

WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION

Mr. Antoine Henri Zarb, Director, Legal Office;

Mr. Frank Gutteridge, Legal Office.

INTERNATIONAL TELECOMMUNICATION UNION

Dr. M. B. Sarwate, Deputy Secretary-General;

Mr. Clifford Stead, Counsellor.

WORLD METEOROLOGICAL ORGANIZATION

Mr. Jean René Rivet, Deputy Secretary-General;

Mr. Robert L. Munteanu, External Relations Officer.

INTER-GOVERNMENTAL MARITIME CONSULTATIVE ORGANIZATION

Mr. Ove Nielsen, Secretary-General.

International Atomic Energy Agency

Mr. Gordon W. Wattles, Acting Director, Legal Division.

Inter-governmental Organizations

Conseil général des pêches pour la Méditerranée

Mr. Raffaele Cusmai, First Vice-President.

INTER-AMERICAN TROPICAL TUNA COMMISSION

Mr. Milner Bailey Schaefer, Director of Investigations.

INTERNATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR THE UNIFICATION OF PRIVATE LAW

Mr. Robert Sandiford, Professor, University of Rome.

LEAGUE OF ARAB STATES

Mr. Zouhair Kabbani;

Mr. Moukhtar Elwakil.

ORGANIZATION FOR EUROPEAN ECONOMIC CO-OPERATION

Mr. Gunnar Gundersen, Head of the Fisheries Section.

PERMANENT CONFERENCE FOR THE EXPLOITATION AND CONSERVATION OF THE MARITIME RESOURCES OF THE SOUTH PACIFIC

Dr. Galo Leoro, Secretary-General.

OFFICERS OF THE CONFERENCE AND ITS COMMITTEES 1

President of the Conference

Prince Wan Waithayakon (Thailand)

Vice-Presidents of the Conference

The representatives of the following Member States: Albania, Argentina, Canada, China, France, Ghana, Guatemala, Iran, Italy, Mexico, Norway, Poland, Switzerland, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Arab Republic, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America.

Committee of the Whole

Chairman:

Mr. José A. Correa (Ecuador)

Vice-Chairman:

Mr. Max Sörensen (Denmark)

Rapporteur:

Mr. Edwin Glaser (Romania)

Credentials Committee

Members:

The representatives of the following States: Brazil, Chile, France, Greece, Indonesia, Liberia, Sudan, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United States of America.

Chairman:

Mr. Nathan Barnes (Liberia)

¹ Circulated as document A/CONF.19/L.2.