Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea

1973-1982 Concluded at Montego Bay, Jamaica on 10 December 1982

Document:- A/CONF.62/104

Resolution of the Council of Ministers of the Organization of African Unity on the law of the sea

Extract from the Official Records of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea, Volume XIV (Summary Records, Plenary, General Committee, First and Third Committees, as well as Documents of the Conference, Resumed Ninth Session)

DOCUMENT A/CONF.62/104

Resolution of the Council of Ministers of the Organization of African Unity on the law of the sea*

[Original: English/French] [5 August 1980]

The Council of Ministers of the Organization of African Unity meeting in the thirty-fifth ordinary session held at Freetown, Sierra Leone, from 18 to 28 June 1980,

Recalling the declaration and resolutions of the Organization of African Unity concerning the Law of the Sea particularly the Declaration of Addis Ababa (1973), the Declaration and resolution of Nairobi, February, 1979 and Monrovia, July, 1979,

Considering that the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea has now entered a decisive stage towards the adoption of a comprehensive and universal convention,

Desiring to settle in a spirit of mutual understanding and cooperation, all issues relating to the law of the sea,

Conscious of the historic significance of such a convention,

Taking into account the evolution of the negotiations particularly relating to the general aspects of the law of the sea, of scientific research and the preservation of the marine environment,

Having considered the progress Report of the Secretary-General on the eighth and ninth sessions of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea, CM/1066(XXXV):

DECLARES:

1. That the transfer of technology including processing of sea-bed resources and the training of personnel constitute an obligation for every contractor with the Authority to enable it to exploit the resources of the international area;

- 2. Reaffirms the principles adopted in the Declarations of Nairobi and Monrovia concerning the rejection of any system in the convention of voting in the Council based either on the principle of the veto, of collective voting or of weighted voting;
- 3. That the provisions for entry into force of the convention should require a relatively high number of States in order to ensure an adequate composition in the Council of the Authority taking due account of the principle of equitable geographical representation;
- 4. National liberation movements recognized by the Organization of African Unity, the United Nations and the specialized agencies shall have the right to become parties to the convention;
- 5. The resolution concerning the establishment of the preparatory commission should provide for:
- (a) participation by all those who have taken part in the preparation and formulation of the Convention;
- (b) specific powers consisting exclusively for the establishment and function of the organs of the Authority and the Tribunal of the Law of the Sea;
- (c) any decision of the preparatory commission should be in the form of recommendation to the Authority.

DOCUMENT A/CONF.62/105

Report of the Credentials Committee

[Original: English] [28 August 1980]

- The Credentials Committee held its 13th meeting on 28 August 1980. Representatives of all the members of the Committee except Chad and Ivory Coast were present.
- The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Executive Secretary of the Conference, dated 27 August 1980, indicating that as of that date communications had been received concerning 142 States participating in the session, and Namibia (the United Nations Council for Namibia).
- For the purposes of the resumed minth session, credentials in the form provided for by rule 3 of the rules of procedure had been submitted to the Executive Secretary by the following 101 States: Albania, Algeria, Angola, Australia, Bahrain, Barbados, Belgium, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Brazil, Buglaria, Burma, Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic, Cape Verde, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Democratic Yemen, Denmark, Dominica, El Salvador, Finland, France, Gabon, German Democratic Republic, Germany, Federal Republic of, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Holy See, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamhiriya, Liechtenstein, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Mozambique, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines. Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Saint Lucia, San Marino, Sao Tomé and Principe, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Somalia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Syrian
- Arab Republic, Thailand, Turkey, Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Arab Emirates, United Republic of Cameroon, United Republic of Tanzania, United States, Uruguay, Viet Nam, Yemen, Yuguslavia, Zaire, Zawkia and Ziwhahwe.
- 4. The following 18 States had submitted credentials which remained valid for the ninth session in New York, and the resumed ninth session at Geneva: Austria, Bahamas, Canada, Democratic Kampuchea, Ethiopia, Guyana, Hangary, Iceland, Luxembourg, Morocco, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Senegal, Switzerland, Tonga, Trindad and Tobago, Tunisia and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
- 5. The appointment of the representatives of three States: Djibouti, Guinea-Bissau and Paraguay has been communicated to the Executive Secretary by telegram from the ministry for foreign affairs concerned. The appointment of the representatives of Namibia (United Nations Council for Namibia) has also been communicated to the Executive Secretary by telegram.
- 6. The appointment of the representatives of the following 18 States has been communicated to the Executive Secretary by letters, cables or notes verbale: Argentina, Bangladesh, Burundi, Congo, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Píji, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Mongolia, Nicaragua, Panama, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Sudan and Venezuela.
- In addition, the delegations of Mauritius and Uganda have signed the register of the Conference in accordance with rule 40 of the rules of procedure.

^{*} Circulated at the request of the representative of Liberia, Chairman of the Group of African States at the ninth session of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea.