Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea

1973-1982 Concluded at Montego Bay, Jamaica on 10 December 1982

Document:-A/CONF.62/60

Provisional agenda of the seventh session of the Conference

Extract from the Official Records of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea, Volume IX (Summary Records, Plenary, General Committee, First, Second and Third Committees, as well as Documents of the Conference, Seventh and Resumed Seventh Session)

DOCUMENTS OF THE CONFERENCE

DOCUMENT A/CONF.62/60

Provisional agenda of the seventh session of the Conference

[Original: English] [22 March 1978]

- 1. Opening of the session by the President of the Conference
- 2. Minute of silence for prayer or meditation
- 3. Adoption of the agenda for the session
- 4. Organization of negotiations during the seventh session
- 5. Consideration of the subject-matter referred to in paragraph 3 of General Assembly resolution 3067 (XXVIII) of 16 November 1973
- 6. Adoption of a convention dealing with all matters relating to the law of the sea, pursuant to paragraph 3 of General Assembly resolution 3067 (XXVIII) of 16 November 1973, and of the final act of the Conference
- 7. Signature of the convention and the final act (at Caracas)

DOCUMENT A/CONF.62/63

Organization of work

[Original: English] [18 April 1978]

In accordance with the decisions taken by the Conference at its 90th plenary meeting on the report of the General Committee (A/CONF.62/61) and appearing in document A/CONF.62/62 dated 13 April 1978, the following negotiating groups have been established in consultation with the Chairman of the First Committee, the Chairman of the Second Committee, the Chairmen of the groups of African States, Asian States, Arab States, Latin American States, Eastern European States and Western European and Other States, the Chairman of the group of coastal States, the Chairman of the group of landlocked and geographically disadvantaged States and the representative of the United States of America:

1. NEGOTIATING GROUP ON ITEM (1)

(System of exploration and exploitation and resource policy, taking note of the work of the informal group of technical experts invited to consider the technical problems associated with any formula that might be used to limit production of minerals from the area)

(a) To represent the group of African States: Egypt, Gabon, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Mauritania, Nigeria, Senegal, Tunisia, Uganda, Zaire and Zambia.

(b) To represent the group of Asian States: China, Democratic People's Republic of Korea. Fiji, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan, Qatar, Singapore and Viet Nam.

(c) To represent the group of Latin American States: Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago and Venezuela.

(d) To represent the group of Eastern European States:

Czechoslovakia, German Democratic Republic, Poland, Romania, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and Yugoslavia.

(c) To represent the group of Western European and other States: Australia, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Federal Republic of, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

(f) United States of America.

Total membership: 50.

Mr. Frank Njenga was appointed Chairman of that negotiating group.

II. NEGOTIATING GROUP ON ITEM (4)

(Right of access of land-locked States and certain developing coastal States in a subregion or region to the living resources of the exclusive economic zone)

(Right of access of land-locked and geographically disadvantaged States to the living resources of the economic zone)

(a) To represent the group of coastal States: Argentina, Australia, Canada, Chile, Iceland, India, Iran, Kenya, Mexico, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Peru, Senegal, Spain, United Republic of Tanzania and Uruguay.

(b) To represent the group of land-locked and geographically disadvantaged States: Austria, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, German Democratic Republic, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Mali, Poland, Singapore, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Upper Volta and Zaire.

(c) Five neutral countries: China, Denmark, Romania,