IntroductionMembershipActivitiesContactResearch Guide
  Main page > Sessions > Sixty-sixth session (2014)

Sixty-sixth Session (5 May to 6 June and 7 July to 8 August 2014)
last update: 23 July, 2014
<< Previous Next >>
(A/CN.4/665 (E, F, S, R, C, A))  

1. Organization of the work of the session

2. Expulsion of aliens

3. The obligation to extradite or prosecute (aut dedere aut judicare)

4. Protection of persons in the event of disasters

5. Immunity of State officials from foreign criminal jurisdiction

6. Subsequent agreements and subsequent practice in relation to the interpretation of treaties

7. The Most-Favoured-Nation clause

8. Provisional application of treaties

9. Identification of customary international law

10. Protection of the environment in relation to armed conflicts

11. Protection of the atmosphere

12. Programme, procedures and working methods of the Commission and its documentation 

13. Date and place of the sixty-seventh session

14. Cooperation with other bodies 

15. Other business

Select another session of the Commission:

Download free acrobat reader

List of documents


In accordance with General Assembly resolution 68/112 of 16 December 2013 (E, F, S, R, C, A), the International Law Commission will hold its sixty-sixth session at the United Nations Office at Geneva from 5 May to 6 June and 7 July to 8 August 2014 (10 weeks).

  • Members of the Commission:

    Members of the Commission

    Mohammad Bello Adoke (Nigeria); Ali Mohsen Fetais Al-Marri (Qatar); Lucius Caflisch (Switzerland); Enrique J.A. Candioti (Argentina); Pedro Comissário Afonso (Mozambique); Abdelrazeg El-Murtadi Suleiman Gouider (Libya); Concepción Escobar Hernández (Spain); Mathias Forteau (France); Kirill Gevorgian (Russian Federation); Juan Manuel Gómez-Robledo (Mexico); Hussein A. Hassouna (Egypt); Mahmoud D. Hmoud (Jordan); Huang Huikang (China); Marie G. Jacobsson (Sweden); Maurice Kamto (Cameroon); Kriangsak Kittichaisaree (Thailand); Ahmed Laraba (Algeria); Donald M. McRae (Canada); Shinya Murase (Japan); Sean D. Murphy (United States of America); Bernd H. Niehaus (Costa Rica); Georg Nolte (Germany); Ki Gab Park (Republic of Korea); Chris M. Peter (United Republic of Tanzania); Ernest Petric (Slovenia); Gilberto Vergne Saboia (Brazil); Narinder Singh (India); Pavel Šturma (Czech Republic); Dire D. Tladi (South Africa); Eduardo Valencia-Ospina (Colombia); Marcelo Vázquez-Bermudez, ( Ecuador )*; Amos S. Wako (Kenya); Nugroho Wisnumurti (Indonesia); and Sir Michael Wood (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland).

  • Officers:
    • Chairman: Mr. Kirill Gevorgian (Russian Federation)
    • First Vice-Chairman: Mr. Shinya Murase (Japan)
    • Second Vice- Chairman: Ms. Concepción Escobar-Hernandez (Spain)
    • Rapporteur: Mr. Dire D. Tladi (South Africa)
    • Chairman of the Drafting Committee: Mr. Gilberto Vergne Saboia (Brazil)
  • Other:
    • The United Nations Legal Counsel, Mr. Miguel de Serpa Soares, made a statement at the 3204th meeting (E, F), held on 14 May 2014, informing the Commission of the activities of the Office of Legal Affairs and recent developments of international law in the context of the United Nations. An exchange of views followed.
    • The Secretary-General of the Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization, Mr. Rahmat Mohamad, addressed the Commission at the 3218th meeting (E, F), held on 8 July 2014. An exchange of views followed
    • The Vice-President of the Inter-American Juridical Committee, Mr. Fabián Novak, addressed the Commission at the 3223rd meeting (E, F), held on 15 July 2014. An exchange of views followed.
    • The Chair of the Committee of Legal Advisers on Public international Law (CAHDI), Ms. Liesbeth Lijnzaad, and the Secretary of the Committee of Legal Advisers on Public international Law (CAHDI), Ms. Marta Requena, addressed the Commission at the 3224th meeting (E, F), held on 16 July 2014. An exchange of views followed.
    • The President of the International Court of Justice, Judge Peter Tomka, addressed the Commission at the 3228th meeting (E, F), on 22 July 2014, followed by an exchange of views.

Codification Division,
Office of Legal Affairs

Copyright © United Nations, 1998-2014
All Rights Reserved