Repertory of Practice of United Nations Organs Supplements Nos. 7-9 (1985-1999)¹

(Advance version, to be issued in volume III of Supplement Nos. 7-9 (forthcoming) of the Repertory of Practice of United Nations Organs)

VOLUME III

ARTICLE 23 (1)

TEXT OF ARTICLE 23 (1) and (3)

1. The Security Council shall consist of fifteen Members of the United Nations. The Republic of China, France, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the United States of America shall be permanent members of the Security Council. ...

2. ...

3. Each member of the Security Council shall have one representative.

NOTE

- 1. This note is confined to the Practice of the Security Council only. The practice of the General Assembly concerning Article 23, paragraphs 1 and 2 will be the subject of a separate study.
- 2. During the review period, there was no formal discussion in the Security Council regarding the interpretation of Article 23.

¹ At the bilateral meeting between the Codification Division of the Office of Legal Affairs and the Security Council Affairs Division of the Department of Political Affairs, on 11 March 2011, it was agreed that in order to expedite the elimination of the backlog in volume III, studies on *Supplements 7*, 8 and 9 of the volume would be merged.

- 3. In a letter dated 27 December 1991, the Permanent Representative of Belarus to the United Nations informed the Secretary-General that the membership of the Soviet Union in the United Nations, including permanent membership of the Security Council was being continued by the Russian Federation with the support of the 11 member countries of the Commonwealth of Independent States.²
- 4. In practice, given the term of office of a non-permanent member of the Security Council is two years, the General Assembly, at each regular session, elected five nonpermanent members to the Security Council for a two-year term to replace those members whose terms of office were to expire on 31 December of the respective year. In each instance, the Assembly elected the five non-permanent members in the course of one plenary meeting.³
- 5. Rwanda was elected as a non-permanent member of the Security Council from 1 January 1994 to 31 December 1995. However, during the period 14 July to 2 September 1994, Rwanda had no representation in the Security Council. By a presidential statement dated 25 August 1994, the Council decided to suspend the operation of rule 18 of the provisional rules of procedure so as to allow the presidency of the Security Council to be held in September 1994 by Spain. It further stated that the timing of the presidency of the Council by Rwanda would be addressed later.⁴
- 6. For detailed information regarding the Council's practice in connection with nonpermanent members of the Council, as described in paragraphs 1 to 5 above, see Chapter IV of the *Repertoire of the Practice of the Security Council*:

 http://www.un.org/en/sc/repertoire/85-88/85-88 04.pdf#page=3 (during 1985-1988);

 http://www.un.org/en/sc/repertoire/89-92/89-92 04.pdf#page=4 (during 1993-1995); and http://www.un.org/en/sc/repertoire/93-95/93-95 04.pdf#page=4 (during 1993-1995).

² See the Decision by the Council of Heads of State of the Commonwealth of Independent States, A/47/60-S/23329, dated 30 December 1991, Annex V, para. 1.

³ See, for instance, thirteenth supplement to the *Repertoire of the Practice of the Security Council* (1996-1999), Chapter VI under heading "Election by the General Assembly of non-permanent members of the Security Council"; pp. 202-203.

⁴ S/PRST/1994/48.