ARTICLE 3

TEXT OF ARTICLE 3

The original Members of the United Nations shall be the states which, having participated in the United Nations Conference on International Organization at San Francisco, or having previously signed the Declaration by United Nations of January 1, 1942, sign the present Charter and ratify it in accordance with Article 110.

NOTE

1. The provisions of Article 3 do not contemplate any action by organs of the United Nations and no questions concerning their application and interpretation have arisen in the practice of United Nations organs. The only instance in which there was incidental reference to a problem indirectly related to Article 3 arose in connexion with the admission of a new Member and is therefore examined under Article 4. 1/

2. The following States were the original signatories of the Declaration by United Nations of 1 January 1942:

Australia	Luxembourg
Belgium	Netherlands
Canada	New Zealand
China	Nicaragua
Costa Rica	Norway
Cuba	Panama
Czechoslovakia	Poland
Dominican Republic	Union of South Africa
El Salvador	Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
Greece	United Kingdom of Great Britain and
Guatemala	Northern Ireland
Haiti	United States of America
Honduras	Yugoslavia
India	-

 $[\]underline{1}_{\ell}$ See also in this Repertory under Article 4.

3. The following States subsequently adhered to the Declaration:

Bolivia	27 Apr. 1943	Liberia	26 Feb. 1944
Brazil	8 Feb. 1943	Mexico	5 June 1942
Chile	12 Feb. 1945	Paraguay	12 Feb. 1945
Colombia	22 Dec. 1943	Peru	11 Feb. 1945
Ecuador	7 Feb. 1945	Philippines	10 June 1942
Egypt	27 Feb. 1945	Saudi Arabia	1 Mar. 1945
Ethiopia	28 June 1942	Syria	l Mar. 1945
France	26 Dec. 1944	Turkey	24 Feb. 1945
Iran	10 Sept. 1943	Uruguay	23 Feb. 1945
Iraq	16 Jan. 1943	Venezuel a	16 Feb. 1945
Lebanon	1 Mar. 1945		

4. The following fifty States participated in the United Nations Conference on International Organization:

BoliviaLibBoliviaLibBrazilLuxByelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic 2/MexCanadaNetChileNewChinaNicColombiaNorCosta RicaPanCubaParCzechoslovakiaPerDenmark 2/PhiDominican RepublicSauEcuadorSyrEgyptTurEl SalvadorUkrFranceUniGreeceUniHaitiUniHondurasUrvIndiaVer	aq ebanon .beria .wembourg exico etherlands ew Zealand .caragua orway anama araguay
---	---

5. The Charter was signed by the States listed above on 26 June 1945. Details of ratification may be found in the study on Article 110 in this Repertory. Foland, a signatory to the Declaration, did not participate in the Conference, 3/ but signed the Charter as an original Member on 15 October 1945.

^{2/} Invited to participate after the Conference had convened at San Francisco in April 1945.

^{3/} At the time the Conference was convened, agreement had not been reached on recognition of a Polish Government by the Governments of the Sponsoring Powers (China, USSR, United Kingdom and United States).