ARTICLE 61

CONTENTS

Text of Article 61		
Introduc	ctory note	Paragraphs . l
I. Gen	neral survey	. 2-6
A.	Article 61 (1-3)	. 2-6
II. Ana	alytical summary of practice	
** A.	Question of the date of expiry of the term of office of members of the Council	
	Question of associating with the Council's activities the largest number of members compatible with its efficacy	S
**C.	Question of the representation of a Member State	
** D.	Question of whether the Council can meet with a vacancy in its membership	

ARTICLE 61

TEXT OF ARTICLE 61

(As amended pursuant to General Assembly resolution 1991 B (XVIII))

- 1. The Economic and Social Council shall consist of twenty-seven Members of the United Nations elected by the General Assembly.
- 2. Subject to the provisions of paragraph 3, nine members of the Economic and Social Council shall be elected each year for a term of three years. A retiring member shall be eligible for immediate re-election.
- 3. At the first election after the increase in the membership of the Economic and Social Council from eighteen to twenty-seven members, in addition to the members elected in place of the six members whose term of office expires at the end of that year, nine additional members shall be elected. Of these nine additional members, the term of office of three members so elected shall expire at the end of one year, and of three other members at the end of two years, in accordance with arrangements made by the General Assembly.
- 4. Each member of the Economic and Social Council shall have one representative.

INTRODUCTORY NOTE

1. This study supplements previous studies of Article 61 in the *Repertory* and its *Supplements Nos. 1, 2* and 3; the former headings have therefore been maintained. During the period under review, the only developments requiring treatment come under the following heading of the General Survey: A. Article 61 (1-3).

I. GENERAL SURVEY

A. Article 61 (1-3)

- 2. At its twenty-first session the General Assembly applied for the first time rule 146¹ of its rules of procedure, when it elected nine members of the Economic and Social Council. Otherwise, the procedure followed by the General Assembly at its twenty-first, twenty-second, twenty-third and twenty-fourth sessions for electing one-third of the members of the Economic and Social Council did not vary from that described in the Repertory² since, during the period under review, no changes were made in rules 85, 94, 96, 146 and 147 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly.
- 3. The following Member States were elected members of the Council during the period under review:

1966

Belgium, France, Guatemala, Kuwait, Libya, Mexico, Sierra Leone, Turkey, United Republic of Tanzania.

1967

Argentina, Bulgaria, Chad, Congo (Brazzaville), India, Ireland, Japan, United States, Upper Volta.

1968

Indonesia, Jamaica, Norway, Pakistan, Sudan, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Yugoslavia.

1969

Brazil, Ceylon, France, Ghana, Greece, Italy, Kenya, Peru, Tunisia.

¹This rule was amended by G A resolution 2046 C (XX). For text see A/520/Rev.10.

²Repertory, vol. III, under Article 61, paras. 7 and 8.

4. The following list shows, for the period ending 31 December 1969, the frequency of application of the provision in Article 61 (2) whereby "a retiring member shall be eligible for immediate re-election":

Member States regularly re-elected to the Council since its inception

France, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Kingdom, United States.

Member States re-elected upon expiry of term of office

nember states to elected upon dipiny by term by byfice
Argentina1952-1954, 1955-1957
Belgium1949-1951, 1952-1954
Chile1946-1948, 1949-1951
China
1952-1954, 1955-1957,
1958-1960
Czechoslovakia1960-1962, 1963-1965, 1966-1968
India1966-1967 (elected for two years)
1968-1970
Japan1960-1962, 1963-1965
Lebanon1946 (elected for one year)
1947-1949
Netherlands 1955-1957, 1958-1960
Pakistan1954-1956, 1957-1959
Peru1946-1948, 1949-1951
Poland1948-1950, 1951-1953,
1957-1959, 1960-1962
Sierra Leone 1966 (elected for one year)
1967-1969
United Arab
Republic 1952-1954, 1955-1957

of Tanzania 1966 (elected for one year)

Yugoslavia......1953-1955, 1956-1958

1967-1969

United Republic

Of the seventy Member States which have served on the Council, apart from four which have served continuously³, one has served six terms of office⁴, five have served five terms⁵, ten have served four terms⁶, five have served three terms⁷, sixteen have served two terms⁸ and thirty-three have served one term9.

6. At the twenty-first session of the General Assembly, three Member States¹⁰ which had not previously served on the Council were elected to membership, at the twenty-second session, four Member States 11, at the twenty-third session, one Member State¹² and at the twenty-fourth session, four Member States¹³.

Republic, Cameroon, Chad, Ceylon, Congo (Brazzaville), Costa Rica, Dahomey, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Finland, Gabon, Ghana, Guatemala, Iraq, Ireland, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Libya, Luxembourg, Morocco, Panama, Romania, Senegal, Spain, Tunisia, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, Upper

10Guatemala, Kuwait, Libya.

**II. ANALYTICAL SUMMARY OF PRACTICE

- Question of the date of expiry of the term of office of members of the Council
- Question of associating with the Council's activities the largest number of members compatible with its efficacy
 - **C. Ouestion of the representation of a Member State
 - Question of whether the Council can meet with a vacancy in its membership

³France, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Kingdom and United States.

⁴India.

Belgium, China, Czechoslovakia, Pakistan, Yugoslavia.
 Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Greece, Mexico, Peru, Poland, Turkey, Venezuela.

⁷Australia, Japan, Netherlands, Norway, Uruguay.

⁸Bulgaria, Columbia, Cuba, Denmark, Ecuador, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Lebanon, New Zealand, Philippines, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Sweden, United Arab Republic, United Republic of Tanzania.

⁹Afghanistan, Algeria, Austria, Byelorussian Soviet Socialist

¹¹Chad, Congo (Brazzaville), Ireland and Upper Volta. 12Jamaica.

¹³Ceylon, Ghana, Kenya and Tunisia.