International Law Commission International Law Commission

Last update: June 13, 2016



2001 Election of the International Law Commission

The term of office of the thirty-four members of the International Law Commission for the 1997-2001 quinquennium expired at the end of 2001, and the election of the members of the Commission for a five-year term beginning on 1 January 2002 took place at the fifty-sixth session of the General Assembly, on 7 November 2001.

The Statute of the International Law Commission, provides, in article 2, that the International Law Commission shall consist of thirty-four members who shall be persons of recognized competence in international law, with no two members being nationals of the same State and that in case of dual nationality a candidate shall be deemed to be a national of the State in which he ordinarily exercises civil and political rights.

The members of the Commission were elected by the General Assembly from the following list of candidates nominated by the Governments of States Members of the United Nations:

Candidates Nationalty Outcome
Addo, Emmanuel Akwei Ghana Elected*
Akuyev, Nikolai Kazakhstan
Al-Baharna, Husain M. Bahrain Elected*
Al-Marri, Ali Mohsen Fetais Qatar Elected
Baena Soares, João Clemente Brazil Elected*
Brownlie, Ian United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland Elected*
Candioti, Enrique J. A. Argentina Elected*
Chee, Choung II Republic of Korea Elected
Comissario Afonso, Pedro Mozambique Elected
Daoudi, Riad Syrian Arab Republic Elected
Dawi, Ali Abdulrahman Libyan Arab Jamahiriya
Dugard, Christopher John South Africa Elected*
Economides, Constantine P. Greece
Escarameia, Paula Portugal Elected
Fomba, Salifou Mali Elected
Gaja, Giorgio Italy Elected*
Galicki, Zdzislaw W. Poland Elected*
Goco, Raul Ilustre Philippines
Herdocia Sacasa, Mauricio Nicaragua
Hinestrosa, Fernando Colombia
Ige, Adegoke Ajibola Nigeria Elected
Kabatsi, Peter C. R. Uganda
Kamto, Maurice Cameroon Elected*
Kateka, James L. United Republic of Tanzania Elected*
Kemicha, Fathi Tunisia Elected
Kittichaisaree, Kriangsak Thailand
Koskenniemi, Martti Finland Elected
Kuznetsov, Valery I. Russian Federation Elected
Mansfield, William New Zealand Elected
Melescanu, Teodor Viorel Romania
Momtaz, Djamchid Iran, Islamic Republic of Elected*
Niehaus, Bernd H. Costa Rica Elected
Opertti Badan, Didier Uruguay Elected*
Pambou-Tchivounda, Guillaume Gabon Elected*
Pellet, Alain France Elected*
Rao, Pemmaraju Sreenivasa India Elected*
Rodríguez-Cedeño, Victor Venezuela Elected*
Rosenstock, Robert United States of America Elected*
Sepúlveda, Bernardo Mexico Elected*
Simma, Bruno Germany Elected*
Subedi, Surya P. Nepal
Tomka, Peter Slovakia Elected*
Tueni, Michel J. Lebanon
Xue, Hanqin China Elected
Yamada, Chusei Japan Elected*

Each State Member of the United Nations could nominate not more than four candidates, of whom two could be nationals of the nominating State and two nationals of other States (articles 3, 4 and 7). Members of the Commission are elected for five years and are eligible for re-election (article 10).

The thirty-four members of the International Law Commission were elected according to the pattern set up in paragraph 3 of resolution 36/39 of 18 November 1981. Thus, the allocation of seats on the Commission for the five-year term beginning on 1 January 2002 was as follows:

As to the nomination of candidates, the Statute provides in article 5 that the names of the candidates shall be submitted in writing by Governments to the Secretary-General by the first of June of the year in which an election is held.

* Reelected